PDA

View Full Version : Buying an S2


memobug
October 17th, 2002, 05:31 PM
After you've made the decision that an S2 is for you, how to go about acquiring one?

If you are lucky enough you can walk into a camera store and buy one off the shelf. Sound crazy? It has happened. This would give you the opportunity to check finish and focus before you walk out the door. The other day I bought an Nikon AFS 28-70 lens that squeaked. So much for "silent wave!" I was able to return it on the spot, and that could have taken a week or two by mail.

On the other hand, buying out of state may get the camera into your hands much sooner, and you may not have to pay sales tax.

Some other U.S. online sources for S2 equipment

Tallyn's (http://www.tallyns.com/TallDigHome.htm)
Ritz Camera (http://www.ritzcamera.com) No sales tax no matter where you live!
BH Photo Video (http://www.bhphoto.com)
Unique Photo (http://www.uniquephoto.com) Where I bought mine!
Calumet Photo Video (http://www.calumetphoto.com) Good people.

Beware the high pressure camera stores. I had one bad experience with a place on King's Highway that taught me a bunch about bait & switch and hidden shipping charges. Get a complete total with shipping handling & insurance before you provide a credit card number!

If you are brave enough to buy off e-bay - Read Tom Voegeli's post (http://theswampbbs.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=454#post454) first. Be sure you are getting everything you expect as some of the "North American" packages do not include accessories like the AC Charger or HyperCosmic Utility software that you might expect, and your warranty may not be worth much.

Pay by credit card, not ATM Check/Cash Card, and you will have more leverage.

ADDITIONAL INFO:

Where to Buy an S2 (http://theswampbbs.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=112)

teski
October 18th, 2002, 11:22 PM
http://www.samys.com
http://www.canogacamera.com

Teski

dehavenphoto
February 4th, 2003, 06:02 AM
I made the same mistake buying from the same high pressure camera store - It was Royal Camera. Avoid them like the plague!

Their website is designed so that you can't really buy the S2 from it. The price they quote is for a grey market camera without any software/cables, warrantyl, etc. You are forced to call them. When you call them, they do a bait and switch.

I got the salesman to say that the shipping and handling was included for the price he quoted me. When the camera came, they added another $174 to the bill!!!!

When I called them back, they denied that they ever include the price of shipping and handling. The credit card people can't do anything - it' s your word against theirs.

I went back online and made a dummy order to be a similar price as to what I bought. The shipping on that was $59! I'm printing this out and sending it to my credit card company to fight Royal Camera.

They are dishonest to say the least.

Jack DeHaven

RacerX
July 30th, 2003, 08:33 PM
I just completed purchasing about $5000.00 dollars worth of digital camera gear. Not to mention the FinePix S2 PRO. Go to this site and check it out:
http://www.tristatecamera.com/lookat.php3?sid=klt0xr5j&sku=FUJFPS2&cs=find.php3&action=search&target=products&keywords=S2&search_method=all They really bet the rest. Check out my post under "Happy User Report" http://theswampbbs.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1311

Cya!

(Fixed the old S2PRO.com link - memobug)