View Full Version : Is BuysUSA OK??
dwbfoto
December 4th, 2004, 07:08 AM
Has anyone dealt with www.buysusa.com? They sell PhotoShop CS (full version) for $99 (yeah, I see the red flags, too). They say they buy liquidated stock of software originally bundled with computers. They say it can be registered and updated, but does not qualify for Adobe tech support.
Tom V
December 4th, 2004, 10:41 AM
Looks fishy to me.
To me, it sounds like it's either Trial versions, "backup" copys of already registered software, pure bootleg copies, or copies from large site licenses.
I Googled the phone number, and found the the company address in Florida.
I also found a link to a discussion at http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,11636992~mode=flat where someone reported that Adobe botched and lost their lawsuit against BuysUsa.
This link points out that it is illegal to sell (resell) bundled or units of site licensed software. http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&safe=off&threadm=782tkv4qu3h4fgc1ferk29lnvg15ueo8l0%404ax.c om&rnum=20&prev=/groups%3Fq%3Dbuysusa.com%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D%26ie%3D UTF-8%26safe%3Doff%26start%3D10%26sa%3DN
The BuysUSA site has so many typographic errors, I could've written it.
I found another site that sells "backup" copies of software, (PS7 for $49) which has got to be illegal. Their disclaimer obviously tries to puts any guilt on whoever buys their "backup" copies.
I would avoid this place.
proberts
December 23rd, 2004, 11:49 AM
The best strategy is to find someone in school, have them buy a copy and transfer it to you (all valid by the license.) Then you can upgrade at the next cycle (the educational license splash screen says non-commercial use only) and be up to date.
Paul
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.